We are just about ready to sweep yet another year into the dustbin of history. Soon all that will remain are the memories the good ones and ones we’d just as soon forget. At year’s end I try my best to gleam a few of interests from my readers around the world.  I thought it would be interesting to share with you some of the top blog entries that have been read and read again. The people have spoken and many of the “big blockbusters” were also favorites in 2013. When you are good you are good I suppose. Between you and me and the lamppost, I had hoped readers would have thrown caution to the wind and tried some of the other little bits of Heaven that are to be found tucked away here and there. Maybe there are too many vignettes, recipes, wines and more too wade through comfortably? Is the Ouija board telling me something, however subtly, that I should be aware of? Inquiring minds want to know, including mine. There’s a lot to uncover in this blog and some mightily delicious recipes just crying out for you to try on your unsuspecting dear family and yes, your dog. Whether you are just a pure foodie or one who appreciates the written word combined with good food and wine (such a heady mixture) either way, I want you all to know that I sincerely appreciate your continued readership wherever in the world you may be! Looking forward to a bold New Year in 2015! Now I must check on that bottle of Veuve Cliquot that’s on ice and calling my name!

The Rankings – 2014

1. Vietnamese Chicken with Lemon Grass

2. Mussels with Roquefort Sauce

3. Chicken Simmered in Cream and Onions or Fondue de Poulet à la Crème

4. Chicken Sautéed with Shallots

5. The American Cathedral on the Avenue George V

6. Chicken Breasts in a Lavender and Champagne Sauce

7. Chicken Marengo – A Dish with a Sense of History, Part 1

8. Breakfast at Les Deux Magots

9. The Marriage Dossier – Part I

10. Classic Sole Meuniere

The Rankings – 2013

  • Le Grand Vefour – Lunch with French History
  • Wine Pairing – Steak au Poivre
  • Chicken Sautéed with Shallots
  • Chicken Breasts in a Lavender and Champagne Sauce
  • Chicken Marengo – A Dish with a Sense of History, Part 1
  • The American Cathedral on the Avenue George V
  • Breakfast at Les Deux Magots
  • The Marriage Dossier – Part I
  • Chicken Old Lyon-Style
  • Vietnamese Chicken with Lemon Grass

Now for some of my personal favorites (be daring, go on!)

  1. Endives and Ham in Cream Sauce – Because you haven’t really lived until you try this incredible preparation. Gobbled it up as a kid in Paris, loved it as an adult.
  2. Enjoying an Apéritifor La Vie Parisienne–It’s as much about art as it is style.
  3. Harry’s New York Bar, Paris – Your quintessential American address in Paris. Go there and drink up!
  4. Pork Chops in Mustard Sauce – What’s not to like? It should be worshiped!
  5. A Long Weekend in Brittany – The entire series full of nostalgia and remembrance of things past. Go figure.
  6. Basque Chicken or Poulet à la Basquaise – Do not miss making this dish! As Mr. T would say “I pity the fool” who refused to make this.
  7. SautéedChicken with Bacon and Potatoes, Grandmother Style – Lends new meaning to “comfort food”and brings back fond memories when Grand Maman was around
  8. Chicken with Lemon, Catalan Style– There are simply not enough words in the English Dictionary   to describe this bit of heaven. I made this again just recently. It will bring you to tears that’s how     good it is. I’m serious.
  9. That Summer Vacation Long Ago – I return again, because it is for me so tremendously nostalgic.   Sometimes I just need to wallow in all that. My Doc says no I don’t.
  10. The House across the Creek –Something about this. I re-read it and edit it every year. It has the 1920’s feel about it. You imagine F. Scott and Zelda hanging around.
  11. Neuilly-sur-Seine – Snapshots of Days Gone By – Growing up in post-war Paris has its own           charm. For the most part. This is a three-part series. From short pants to a business suit.
  12. Chicken Normandy Style – Outstanding country dish and one fit for any Normandy invasion by land, sea or air.
  13. Pork Tenderloin with Merlot, Shallots and Blackberry Sauce – I have made this so often, I’ve lost   count! Truly’ Sometimes it never even gets to a plate.
  14. Lunch at Le Daru with Seirgei – Part II – Enjoy a wonderful, revolutionary meal in a great restaurant in the Little Russia section of Paris. If you’re lucky you might even overhear someone plotting to take over the world.