Chicken Basquaise (from the Basque Region)

I made the decision on preparing this dish 24hrs in advance not knowing whether or not I had created a culinary monster, a son of Frankenstein. I say that somewhat tongue-in-check because first, I can and second I adjusted the recipe because as you know by know, in a kitchen with a recipe, I can’t leave well enough alone. It’s a wee character flaw; I see a recipe and wonder if it can’t somehow be improved just a little bit. Sometimes, admittedly, I push to far and there have been times when it’s a dish only a dog would love. Where this has had rather unanticipated and sometimes, I suppose all is well that ends well. So how did alter my lovely recipe, what alchemy was involved what weird, unauthorized science experiment was being conducted behind closed doors? Were people missing in the community, did Grandma’s cat mysteriously disappear? Well, sorry not luck besides I like all my neighbors. Most of them. Actually what I did was adjust quantity and kinds of Paprika’s, one being the normal spice we know of and use and the second a Smokey Paprika made with Spanish sweet peppers that are smoked for an eternity on wood logs. Not having any Piment  d’Espelette, I merged two different kinds of Paprika  (that would mean a total of four teaspoons) and added two medium hot chilies, seeded and sliced into small strips. I was very pleased with the end result; smoke did come out my ears, I did not suddenly start to grow hair everywhere, no thrashing about just a nice full bodied meal with wonderful smoky flavor permeating each bite. What a heavenly mixture!     

The Chosen Wine:

After some angst and frustration and not finding an authentic wine “du pays” I finally decided on a bottle of La Sauvageonne Les Ruffes 2008. And what an excellent choice. Les Ruffes is the name given to the striking soil which forms the lower slopes of La Sauvageonne. This is a unique terroir that gives its wines great intensity and elegance. This cuve is a blend of Syrah, Grenache, Carignan and Cinsault. The nose exhibits very pure red fruits with floral notes, white pepper, liquorice, smoke, dried cherry and sandalwood flavors. The palate is fresh and precise with great texture and a long lingering finish.